City awards Mississauga schools for traffic safety

Mississauga City Council – on behalf of Traffic Safety Council – awarded the 2019 Wilde Wood School Safety Zone Award to Castlebridge Public School and Plum Tree Park Public School. The schools were recognized for their outstanding leadership and dedication in promoting school zone safety and active transportation.

“On behalf of the city, I’d like to congratulate this year’s recipients and thank you for prioritizing safety in our communities,” said Mayor Bonnie Crombie. “Your effort, along with your enthusiasm and dedication to engaging the entire community in student safety is commendable and sets a great example for others to follow.”

Here are a few significant highlights from each school:

Castlebridge Public School:
• Working with the Traffic Safety Council to launch a School Walking Routes Program.
• Planning pop-up walks with the principal and students in the morning.
• Partnering with the City’s parking enforcement staff and Peel Regional Police to keep school areas safe.
• Installing bike racks to encourage biking to school.

Plum Tree Park Public School:
• Having dedicated staff lead a Super Walker Program, including providing incentives for students and celebrating their accomplishments.
• Kicking off the school year with an assembly and a school-wide walk – including banners and music.
• Running a walking club every Wednesday for students who can’t walk to school.

“Our schools play an integral role in ensuring that our students can travel safely to, from and around their schools,” said John Kovac, Ward 4 Councillor and member of Mississauga’s Traffic Safety Council. “This year’s recipients of the Wilde Wood Award have gone above and beyond to creatively make active transportation a fun and engaging activity among all students and staff.”

The Wilde Wood Award was named after James Wilde and Arthur Wood who co-founded the Kiss and Ride concept in Mississauga. However, since 2016, the Traffic Safety Council has focused on recognizing schools who promote active transportation in addition to traffic safety around schools. It is awarded annually to schools from the Peel District School Board and the Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board.

Photo: Mayor Bonnie Crombie; Councillor John Kovac, Ward 4 and Traffic Safety Council member; Councillor Pat Saito, Ward 9; and Peter Westbrook, Chair of the Traffic Safety Council; present the Wilde Wood School Safety Zone Award to staff and students from Plum Tree Park Public School.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This