Osler celebrates another exceptional year

William Osler Health System (Osler) celebrated an exceptional year this summer at its annual general meeting at Brampton Civic Hospital.

“This past year was filled with many remarkable achievements, a true testament to Osler’s dedicated staff, physicians and volunteers who continue to go beyond to provide access to high-quality health care to patients and families across this region,” said Vanita Varma, Osler’s board chair. “I continue to be inspired by their dedicated efforts and unwavering commitment to deliver on Osler’s vision of patient-inspired health care without boundaries, each and every day.”

Varma announced Marion Fisher as the recipient of the Kay Blair Community Service Award, a recognition presented to an individual who is committed to serving the needs of Osler’s community, patients and families and who recognizes what it means to be compassionate, kind and understanding.

“Marion Fisher is a shining example of a compassionate volunteer,” said Varma. “With 50 years of service as a volunteer supporting patients and their families at Etobicoke General Hospital and as a member of Osler’s Volunteer Association Board, Marion’s contributions have inspired an entire generation on the importance of community service. We are so proud to count her as a member of the Osler family.”

Osler’s board of directors elected three new members at its meeting: Mark Beckles, Kulvir Singh Gill and Jasmine Tehara. In addition, they renewed and ratified terms of four existing board members: Lisa Coulman, Jane McMullan, Geoffrey Ritchie and Vanita Varma.

“Osler had another incredible year thanks to the dedicated staff, physicians and volunteers who are the heart and soul of all that we do,” said Dr. Brendan Carr, Osler president and CEO. “From the opening of the new Peel Memorial Centre for Integrated Health and Wellness to significant redevelopment progress at Etobicoke General Hospital and expanding services at Brampton Civic Hospital, Osler achieved many noteworthy milestones while continuing to demonstrate its commitment to providing patient-inspired care.”

Jane McMullan was appointed as board chair, assuming responsibilities from outgoing chair Vanita Varma.

Visit OslerReport2017.com for more information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This